Breakfast of champions

20120302-122457.jpg

I’ve read a lot of good breakfast posts of late, which made me realize I’ve been severely lacking in my support for my favorite meal of the day. Cooking In Sens just posted an amazing looking frittata, and I decided I’d had enough. Something must be done to reconnect with my first food love, breakfast.

20120302-121901.jpg
First, I crisped some diced bacon, then added a little brown butter, and cooked down a handful of diced eggplant. While all of this is going on, there’s some diced up sun-dried tomatoes rehydrating in a small bowl of water (who likes chewy tough tomatoes?). After the eggplant is soft and starting to brown lightly, I drained and squeezed out the tomatoes, added them and some diced scallions (green onions) to the sauté pan. If you cook the onions and tomatoes too long, they will start to burn, so just sauté them a little to bring out the flavors. You should really smell those tomatoes. This is where I turn the heat down to medium, and add my eggs, whipped with a splash of cream and a little salt and pepper. Never insult a protein without a little seasoning to help it along. For a garnish I sliced up some cucumber and green grapes. And now, I’m ready for a nap again.

Enjoy,
B

20120302-121330.jpg

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , by the Renegade Chef. Bookmark the permalink.

About the Renegade Chef

We started this company a few years back because we love food. More importantly we love great food. Myself, i love weird food. We started off doing tapas paired wine tastings, and the occasional private dinner or event, and have enjoyed working all over metro detroit putting on pop up restaurants or brunches. We aim to build a network of like minded and passioned people. We hope you'll enjoy following our journey, and seeing what cranks out of the renegade kitchen.

15 thoughts on “Breakfast of champions

Leave a Reply

