Wine Tasting: Italy

20120427-012301.jpg

I must apologize for the extended absence, but I hope you all will understand, I have been a busy fricken bee. The big week is here, one tasting down, two to go. Last night was the Italy wine tasting. With spring break just behind us, organizing a wine tasting amongst several individuals has been a delicate dance of sorts, and to be honest, none of us were on the same page until moments before the event began. With many last minute revisions, and scheduling snafus, ten minutes before my first course went out, we tasted each course with the paired wine, and much to my relief, I had hit a home run. You would think we had been planning these wines around the menu for months, which I assure you, it was nothing like that. It was the most laid back wine tasting I have been a part of for quite some time, and I had a lot of fun. A good reward for all the hard work and lost sleep over the last week.

20120427-012330.jpg

Now that I got all of that off my chest… 🙂

20120427-012338.jpg

Antipasti Plate – Roasted Red Peppers, Seasoned Baked Olives, and Pickled Carrots

Spring Lentil Salad – Juicy Green Lentils, with Red Onions, Yellow Squash, Zucchini, Fresh Basil & Parmesan in a light Balsamic Vinaigrette

Eggplant Caponata Bruschetta – Roasted Eggplant Bruschetta with Caramelized Onion and Celery with Crisp Toast Points

Beef Stew and Cauliflower Manchego Mash – Enough Said. This mash was PHENOMENAL, and garnished with caramelized cauliflower florets

20120427-012346.jpg

Deconstructed Tiramisu Ice Cream – Due to a small mistake in the test run, the flavors in the Ice Cream weren’t quite right, and after a few bites I realized that while it didn’t exactly taste like tiramisu, it was the best ice cream I have ever had. So after a few adjustments and additions, this is what I came up with, Espresso Mascarpone & Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream with a Rum Sweet Cream Sauce. Absolutely.

Between this tasting and the double seated brunch on Sunday with L. Mawby, I have made nearly 11 Quarts of ice cream. But, on the bright side people are beginning to request pints of this or that flavor to purchase. And on the much brighter side, I have booked an Ice Cream & Wine Tasting at D.Vine the day before Mother’s Day! Now just to decide which flavors to feature… I will keep you all posted, and I look forward to filling you all in on the Sunday Brunch Extravaganza!

Until next time,
B

 

 

13 thoughts on “Wine Tasting: Italy

  1. Yummah. I think I just drooled all over my keyboard excessively. And now I want to go out and buy ice cream by the pints. 11? Sheesh, that is a lot. You are very busy but sound happy, devoted, and accomplished so that is good.

    I usually can bake one thing at a time, like a cake, without burning myself or the kitchen down. I realize this is extremely lame compared to your skillz and abilities. Remind me never to share this information agian.

    • hahaha, thanks very much.

      however, do not feel bad, I cut myself three times this week. On is no big deal, another is moderately concerning, and the third was downright scary. Almost certain it needs a stitch or two, but who has time for hospitals nowadays?

  2. These dishes look fantastic! I especially like anything caramelized. I think I said I would send you my lentil salad recipe. I am singing with a symphony most of this week and when that is over, I will send you the recipe.

Leave a Reply

