Lamb Meatballs

 

This was my first attempt at lamb meatballs and I must say, they turned out great.  My mother wanted to mix the lamb with sausage or hamburger and I talked her out of it.  After mixing up a trial of 3 balls, she was sold.

Lamb is not a typical dish here in the south and although people around here eat wild game quite often (No, not road kill) most people are not prepared for the rich, gamey tastes of lamb.  I knew I would have to spice it up and that I did.

If you try this recipe, I urge you to add your own twist to it.  The important thing to remember is to not over-spice it; just use enough to compliment the lamb.

Lamb Meatballs

1 pound of ground lamb

3 cloves of fresh garlic, pressed or finely chopped

Four large pinches of sage

Dusting of onion powder

Four pinches of oregano

Pepper

Two-four pinches of pumpkin pie spice

Ten leaves of fresh sweet basil finely chopped

Two dashes of white wine

Mix well so that all the spices and herbs are mixed evenly throughout the meat.  Place in the refrigerator for two hours.

In a large skillet or large sauté pan, with olive oil place:

Two cloves of fresh garlic pressed or finely chopped

 One large onion finely chopped

A little white wine

Roll lamb into small balls

Place balls into skillet when onions begin to get soft

Cook until done; roughly 15-20 minutes, turning often

Cucumber sauce

Grate one large or two small cucumbers

Add grated cucumbers to sour cream or plain yogurt

Chop fresh dill and stir into sour cream or yogurt.

Chill

Serve lamb meatballs with cucumber sauce

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , by debbiestrange. Bookmark the permalink.

About debbiestrange

With 50 years of experience to share and the burning desire to connect with as many people across the world as possible, I write of the things in life that make us who we are. Family, food, and music, are just some of the things in life I cherish most. I am working towards a doctorate in psychology; currently on the Master’s level. What I have learned through life’s experiences I can apply to what I have learned academically. Human behavior and what makes people do the things they do, feel the things they feel, and live the way they live is my passion in life. The mysteries of life can, so often, be explained in practical terms; you just have to open your heart and mind to take them in. Knowledge is power. Wisdom is its fuel ~Debbie Strange

5 thoughts on “Lamb Meatballs

  1. sounds wonderful! And I must be from one of those rare families in the South- we ate lamb- not often, but it was (and still is) a fairly frequent meat used in recipes.
    I’m going to give this a go. I’m always looking for new ways to use ground lamb!

Leave a Reply

