Zin Wine Bar

Last week, we checked out one of Plymouth’s new hot spots: Zin Wine Bar. A cozy little restaurant, Zin offers an excellent wine list, and a respectable drink menu. They even had hot buttered rum, an absolutely necessary indulgence this time of year.
20121117-134422.jpg

I must say, the menu was rather intriguing, there was much I wished to try, but in the end I went with the Brussel sprout salad, the duck confit app, and the salmon for my entree. The brussel sprouts with shaved carrots, caramelized sweet onions, quinoa, me a red wine vinaigrette all finished off with a smear of black garlic aioli on the plate, blew me away. This is one of the best composed salads I’ve come across. I will certainly get this salad again.
20121117-134441.jpg

As for the duck confit with a ginger apple and cabbage slaw with Old World Olive Press espresso balsamic, I really thought this was a wonderful collection of favors, one that is right up my alley. However, I must say the dish was extremely over salted, which ruined the delightful flavors. A circumstantial mistake, I know these things happen, but it was a little disappointing. I also felt the dish was lacking in something to balance it out, and could benefit from a little greenery perhaps.

20121117-134449.jpg
The salmon, although overlooked for my tastes, (medium well, which is fine, considering a lot of places sell dry, well done salmon), was still moist. The accompaniments of tomato couscous, balsamic grilled eggplant, and a dill Creme fraiche, were all delicious, especially the couscous. This was a good simple plate, and if it had been a good bright medium rare it would have been perfect.

All in all, I really enjoyed the environment, and the food. And I do plan on checking it out again in the future. If you’re from the metro Detroit area, I recommend checking it out, perhaps for their Big & Bold wine tasting on December 5th. Maybe I’ll see ya there.

B

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by the Renegade Chef. Bookmark the permalink.

About the Renegade Chef

We started this company a few years back because we love food. More importantly we love great food. Myself, i love weird food. We started off doing tapas paired wine tastings, and the occasional private dinner or event, and have enjoyed working all over metro detroit putting on pop up restaurants or brunches. We aim to build a network of like minded and passioned people. We hope you'll enjoy following our journey, and seeing what cranks out of the renegade kitchen.

2 thoughts on “Zin Wine Bar

Leave a Reply

